Coverart for item
The Resource Holding : a novel, Graham Norton

Holding : a novel, Graham Norton

Label
Holding : a novel
Title
Holding
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Graham Norton
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--
Summary
The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn't always been this overweight; mother of two Brid Riordan hasn't always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn't always felt that her life was a total waste. So when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke a former love of both Brid and Evelyn the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated PJ struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.
Theme
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10567324
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6114.O785
LC item number
H65 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
Holding : a novel, Graham Norton
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Atria reprint fiction hardcover -- Verso title page
  • Originally published in Great Britain in 2016 by Hodder & Stoughton -- Verso title page
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5871836
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First American hardcover edition.
Extent
264 pages
Isbn
9781501173264
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2017012867
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn973370389
  • (OCoLC)973370389
Label
Holding : a novel, Graham Norton
Publication
Note
  • Atria reprint fiction hardcover -- Verso title page
  • Originally published in Great Britain in 2016 by Hodder & Stoughton -- Verso title page
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5871836
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First American hardcover edition.
Extent
264 pages
Isbn
9781501173264
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2017012867
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn973370389
  • (OCoLC)973370389

Library Locations

    • Central BranchBorrow it
      300 Pine Ave, Albany, GA, 31701-2533, US
      31.5784 -84.153702

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...