Coverart for item
The Resource Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel

Label
Station Eleven
Title
Station Eleven
Statement of responsibility
Emily St. John Mandel
Title variation
Station 11
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production of "King Lear." Jeevan Chaudhary, a paparazzo-turned-EMT, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur's chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead. That same night, as Jeevan walks home from the theater, a terrible flu begins to spread. Hospitals are flooded and Jeevan and his brother barricade themselves inside an apartment, watching out the window as cars clog the highways, gunshots ring out, and life disintegrates around them. Fifteen years later, Kirsten is an actress with the Traveling Symphony. Together, this small troupe moves between the settlements of an altered world, performing Shakespeare and music for scattered communities of survivors. Written on their caravan, and tattooed on Kirsten's arm is a line from Star Trek: "Because survival is insufficient." But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who digs graves for anyone who dares to leave
Summary
An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson. -- Janet Lockhart for LibraryReads
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • ALA Notable Book, 2015.
  • Arthur C. Clarke Award, 2015.
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2014.
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2014
  • Toronto Book Awards, 2015.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10312102
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.S727
LC item number
S73 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel
Link
9780385353304.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5691785
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
333 pages
Isbn
9780385353304
Lccn
2014003560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn866615101
  • (OCoLC)866615101
Label
Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel
Link
9780385353304.jpg
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5691785
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
333 pages
Isbn
9780385353304
Lccn
2014003560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn866615101
  • (OCoLC)866615101

Library Locations

    • Central BranchBorrow it
      300 Pine Ave, Albany, GA, 31701-2533, US
      31.5784 -84.153702
    • Northwest BranchBorrow it
      2507 Dawson Road, Albany, GA, 31707-2315, US
      31.609453 -84.210571
    • Tallulah BranchBorrow it
      2004 Stratford Drive, Albany, GA, 31705, US
      31.571196 -84.099022

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...